March Favourites.

I know it’s probably not the most organised to start a project in March (actually April) but if that doesn’t sum me up, I don’t know what does. So here are my monthly favourites and I’ve tried to stray slightly from the “typical” categories in a favourites blog post just because to be honest I can’t afford to buy a selection of new makeup products each month to test them out and see which one I like the best. And you know originality and variation and all that jazz.

Podcast: Song Exploder – Justin Hurwitz, La La Land.

Okay so I’m obsessed with La La Land. I’m not going to listen to people saying I’m being too generic or just like it because its “in” at the moment. It’s a beautiful, brilliant, classic concept and I love it. This podcast discusses the film briefly but mainly breaks down the song ‘The Fools who dream’; how it was composed and written. It sparked my already powerful love for the song and showed me the hidden effort and skill that went into the creation of it.

songexploder-logo

Book: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton.

A beautiful story that tells the tale of a very usual couple with very unusual secrets and circumstances, set in 17th century Holland. A wonderful, original story that completely captivated me, I’d heard a lot about the book and it certainly did not disappoint. I really don’t want to give much away so I’ll just say, it’s a must read.51FKV1ByLUL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Youtube Video: BEST BROWNIES EVER – Daniel J. Layton

Daniel J. Layton is a youtuber with one of the most sarcastic and brilliant senses of humour ever. He makes videos on baking, lifestyle, politics and this was a new style of baking videos that he was trying out. Him baking brownies with a hilarious commentary over the top full of puns, sarcasm and as much sass as there was chocolate. Watch all his videos but if you want a snapshot of his video making style, this is the one to start with.

Tweet:

IMG_0046

Only comment on this, it made me laugh. It’s a good one.

Snack: Edamame beans

They are just so damn delicious. So healthy, so good for your skin and your insides. Add a bit of chilli powder/garlic/salt etc. and you’re good to go, or they are also just as good on their own. You can buy them from any japanese restaurant or most supermarkets either fresh or frozen. A bit pricey as a regular but they are healthy and they fill you up; better than loads of packets of crisps if you think of it like that.

IMG_8348

So there is my first monthly favourites post! Will try to do this each month but struggle with regularity and organisation :))))))

-jK

Leave a Reply

