New Years Resolutions for 2017.

So it’s finally over, 2016 is finally over. A whole shitfest full of celebrity deaths, awful political decisions and suicide squad has come to an end.

In a desperate bid to make 2017 a good year for me (although it could actually be worse because you know what comes after bad political decisions…bad political consequences) I’m actually setting myself some realistic New Years resolutions that I hope I can achieve this year. So here’s my attempt at noncommittal, very loose and general New Years resolutions, some of which I’ll explain in a tad more detail, some of which I won’t. Can’t wait for this year.

1. Journal whenever you feel you need to or want to 🙂

So I’ve started a journal as a relaxation technique, kinda like one of those colouring books but writing. I definitely prefer the idea of channelling my procrastination into words, rather than colouring – plus they stress me out if they aren’t perfect and I always colour in the wrong bit and the pattern messes up and its just not my thing. Also its not one of those intense and detailed bullet journals that I’ve seen floating around the internet because how can anyone have their life that organised…how? It’s everything that’s inside my head but on paper – lists, doodles, song lyrics, poems, quotes and its really, really fun to do.

2. Maintain my academic average and work ethic.

Kinda self explanatory. I just feel that I’m happy with my grades at the moment and the amount of effort I’m putting in. So instead of improving it, I’m going to keep my work/life balance at the level it is because it’s at a perfect level (for a first year uni student mind, in September I’m going to have to step it up, because things start to count).

3. 2nd chances are okay, 3rd chances are not.

4. Become more confident in myself and in everything I do.

5. Learn to love wearing lipstick.

I just don’t, but I used to hate wearing eyeliner and now I feel absolutely fab wearing it so here’s hoping.

6. Keep my room clean (as best I can).

I’m a messy person. I just am, I live in a world of organised chaos where I know where everything is but where everyone else would need a treasure map to find a pencil. But I’m going to try to keep my room (and life) sort of organised, but if I go the whole way and try to have it spotless all the time, its just not going to happen.

7. Drink lots of water and green tea.

8. Yoga and Meditation – look into it.

I’ve always been interested but always been sceptical, mainly with meditation because I just don’t think I would ever be able to clear my mind. But I’m going to try it, I might not like it but might as well give it a go, who knows?

Hope you are all happy with your resolutions, if you didn’t make any good for you as well. You do you. If you did make some leave them below because  I’m a firm believer that the ways you decide to improve yourself shouldn’t all be decided on one day so would love to add some of yours to my list if they apply to me. Whether its tomorrow or December 31st, let me know 🙂

-jK

Leave a Reply

