A balance between friendship and family.

Have you ever heard the phrase ‘Blood is thicker than water’? I’m pretty sure your relatives have told you this once or 100 times, using the saying as a nice way to basically say ‘Stop hanging out with your friends so much, you need to spend time with your family’. But did you know the full phrase is ‘The blood of the covenant is thicker than the water of the womb’ meaning that sometimes, although don’t get me wrong I love my family and don’t know what I’d do without them, friendships made by choice can feel stronger than those forged by family. In the holidays, or vacation for americans, yes you should spend time with your family and go on a family holiday where you take cheesy pictures and go for meals out. But its also really important to spend time with your friends. Because although our parents say we spend all day with them at school, we don’t really do we? I wouldn’t call an hour of maths where your friend is sitting across the room from you getting told off for waving a fun meet up.

Recently I went away with my best friends for a few days Bournemouth (that’s where the picture is from), the same place that I went to with my family for two weeks about a week before. And yes I had fun both times but it was different both times. With my family we reminisced and watched kids films and went on days out and that was really fun. But with my friends had oreos for breakfast at 1pm and watched chick flicks and laughed until I couldn’t breathe at things that no one within their right mind should find funny. I remember feeling a slight pang of guilt that I hadn’t laughed like this with my family but confused because I still had a great time on both holidays. That’s because family is meant for laughing at other things and having amazing times but not the amazing times you would have with your best friends. Both are so important to having a great time with your teen years so it’s really important to make time for both this summer because not only are all of your family home for these precious six weeks but so are your friends. A balance is key.

Tips to creating that balance:

  1. If you have a free weekend/s and your family want to spend it/them with you, try to compromise. Either say you’ll spend Saturday with them and Sunday with your friends or both of the days with them but then you get to sleep over with your friends on Saturday night.
  2. Use days where your family are busy to meet up with your friends instead of pleading to go to your friends house on a day they have booked to do something else.
  3. Prioritise. If your family have booked to go on a dog walk you’ve been on so many times on the same day your friend is throwing an amazing party, explain the situation to your parents calmly and promise this is just a one time thing.

Remember you don’t really have that many summers so don’t waste them not spending any time with either your family OR your friends, both are just as important as each other.

-jK

One thought on “A balance between friendship and family.

Leave a Reply

